NEAFS College Bowl Flyer 2017 Final 1


 The history of The George W. Chin College Bowl

For the 2004 NEAFS meeting in Mystic CT, Program Chair Tammi Jacobs Shulman decided to promote a little friendly rivalry among the students from the Colleges and Universities that attended the NEAFS meeting. Each school would pick its best oral presentation to be judged by the Collegiate Competition Committee. The winning school got its name engraved on a plaque and bragging rights for the year. This continued the next year with the presentations given during one session on the Saturday morning after the President's Reception! Soon the quality and number of presentations given by the students increased and the competition changed into an individual competition and is called the Peter R. De Forest Collegiate Competition in honor of educator and life member of NEAFS, Dr. Peter De Forest. In 2014, Program Chair Dr. Larry Quarino wanted to revive the interschool rivalry and asked the Chairs of the Student Forum if they could come up with an idea for the competition. Thus was born the NEAFS College Bowl. Teams of 4 students from each college compete to answer multiple choice questions about forensic science. The winning team receives the coveted "Kirk Cup". Depending on response from the schools there are separate divisions for Graduate and Undergraduate teams. In 2016, at the Atlantic City meeting, the College Bowl was renamed in memory of George W. Chin, life member, past President, and one of the founding members of the Student Forum.